Gamma Phi Girl (Dedicated to my fabulous sisters!)

11 Nov

November 11 is a weird day because there are so many emotions involved with Remembrance Day and then, tacked onto that, is the joy of my sorority’s Founder’s Day.

Yes, I AM a sorority girl, a proud member of Gamma Phi Beta.

There is so much to say and so much to get into about this topic but today I want to keep it simple. I have learned so much about myself and life from being a member and even better I have made some amazing friends. Therefore, I owe a huge amount to four ladies: Helen M. Dodge, Frances E. Haven, E. Adeline Curtis, Mary A. Bingham. Thank you for founding an organization that has provided so many with so much. I am very proud to be a Gamma Phi.

My Sister Is…
~by Lisa Lorden
My sister is my heart,
She opens doors to rooms
I never knew were there,
Breaks through walls
I don’t recall building.
She lights my darkest corners
With the sparkle in her eyes.

My sister is my soul.
She inspires my wearied spirit
To fly on wings of angels,
But while I hold her hand
My feet never leave the ground.
She stills my deepest fears
With the wisdom of her song.

My sister is my past.
She writes my history.
In her eyes, I recognize myself;
I have memories only we can share.
She remembers, she forgives,
And she accepts me as I am–
With tender understanding.

My sister is my future.
She lives within my dreams.
She sees my undiscovered secrets,
Believes in me as I stumble.
She walks in step with me,
Her love lighting my way.

My sister is my strength.
She hears the whispered prayers
That I cannot speak.
She helps me find my smile,
Freely giving hers away.
She catches my tears
In her gentle hands.

My sister is like no one else.
She’s my most treasured friend–
Filling up the empty spaces,
Healing broken places.
She is my rock, my inspiration,
Though impossible to define,
In a word, she is… my sister.

Leave a Reply

