Late but for good reason!!!

23 Oct

For those of you that don’t follow me on twitter, I am sorry for leaving you high and dry. For those of you that do follow me on twitter, or that look at the updates on my sidebar, I had a very good reason for not blogging last night! !hat is it, you ask? Well, rather, it should be who was it? It was, ahem, DIERKS BENTLEY!

The other day I was telling you that you should always have something to look forward to and this concert has been something that I have been looking forward to since I found out about it in July. Dierks Bentley is by far my favourite country singer and he did not disappoint. In fact, I would be willing to say that this was the best concert I have ever attended! And that really is saying something, as the non-classical concerts I have attended have been:

1) Ricky Martin Livin’ La Vida Loca – would have been a bad night as they weren’t letting anyone get out of their seats to dance in the floor section, but my Mom talked to security and got us onto the home team bench so we could stand and dance all night (it was held in a hockey rink, thus the home team bench).

2) Justin Timberlake Sexy Back – (Also happened to be JT’s birthday that night) – great concert. I was in the VIP section and leaning against the stage when he winked at me! (I know, it’s incredible that Dierks could beat that too!)

3) Marc Anthony and JLO – Great night, fun concert, Marc Anthony was (to quote Rachel Zoe) “AHhhh – MAY- ZING!” but JLO was then unofficially pregnant with twins and therefore couldn’t dance. And, unfortunately, her voice does not come close to the voice you hear in the albums.

4) Spice Girls – was OK, didn’t really go for the entertainment but for the 10 year old inside me that had a Spice Girls themed birthday party and would have killed for the chance to attend a concert! Was also a fun outing with my sorority sisters.

But next….

5) DIERKS!!!

I love his music, his songs are among my absolute favourites (especially “I Can’t Forget Her” which might be my favourite song of all time). His voice sounded better than on his albums (how can that BE?). I was also able to make it to the front of the stage and he would sing to those of us leaning against the stage while holding our hands. In short, (to again quote Rachel Zoe) “it was a moment”. In all honesty, I wasn’t sure what to expect. As you saw above, I tend to choose concerts that have a full show involved (dancing, back-up dancers, etc.) but Dierks with just himself and the band (who were awesome) managed to beat every large scale production I have been to. He interacted so well with the crowd, we were all sad when the night ended! I hope he comes to Canada again!

So, this was my excuse, I did get my TA workout in but I hope you will all forgive me for missing my blog. Will definitely be updating today on the workout and some tips for today (remember 6pm, NO EXCUSES!).

And, in the meantime, go check out Dierks Bentley on iTunes. (Even if you’re not a country fan, I promise you’ll find many songs you LOVE)! Or check him out at http://www.dierks.com !

P.S. Sorry about the quality of the concert pictures, they were taken on my blackberry.

Leave a Reply

