What inspires your day?

21 Oct

It’s my experience that most of us have these visions of how we will live our day. Reading self-help books we say, “yes, I would love to wake up in the morning, blast a song, and just start out dancing!”, “Yes, I would love to be thankful every second of every day.” Flipping through a magazine we get so excited about the fashion, tear out the page and say “This will inspire me” but then it gets put on the bottom of the pile and stuffed into a drawer and in the morning we reach for the least wrinkled item and try to remember whether or not it was worn yesterday.

It seems that so much of our days are spent dreaming about the person we could be, reading books that give us tools and make inspiration work. However, I’m here to tell you that while inspiration may sometimes be work, it is possible to make it mindless, carefree, enjoyable and part of your day.

1) Dancing in the morning.

This is one that you’ve just got to get up and do. I have a secret for you though: ditch the snooze. I have never understood that button, leap out of bed and get yourself excited about the day – don’t lay down dreading the thought of your day, pushing it back like some awful term test. I have a policy that you should have at least one happy/exciting thing planned for every day (more on that later) – focus on that and start your day!

Anyways, wake up, jump out of bed and forget about self-awareness. Close your eyes, pick up your ipod and JUST DANCE (..spin that record babe, dadadooodoo and just dance…). Actually, you can choose that song but I prefer something that will set me on track for the whole day and has a full message to it. I also choose one that feels just a bit silly to me so that I can start my day dancing AND laughing. An example of one of my morning songs: Live, Love, Laugh by Clay Walker (I was trying to find you a good clip on youtube, didn’t happen but I did find some line dancing routines if that strikes your fancy!). If country is not up your alley feel free to use some Lady Gaga or latin music (go old school with some Ricky Martin – Shake your Bon Bon and Livin La Vida Loca would both make excellent choices)

2) Feeling thankful for every second of every day/remember you ought to be thankful

I guess I have a different perspective than most people, having been sick for so long. I understand what a blessing it is to be able to leave home in the morning, to wake up feeling healthy and to be able to take advantage of life. Not a day goes by when I don’t look at my life at one moment or another, get goosebumps and say “Wow, you’re lucky!”. However, when I got better, I promised myself (a) that I deserved something to reward myself with for having dealt with everything, and (b) find something that will remind me every second of every day to be thankful for my health. I spent a long time deciding and finally chose a piece of jewellery that would be special to me. I also wanted a piece that I would be able to wear all day every day and the only thing I could think of that I wouldn’t always be changing up with my outfits was a ring. I decided that the special part of it would be that it would also be my first Tiffany purchase. I am (as you will find out) a big believer in the story. I might have decided on a Tiffany ring but I wanted the experience (or story) of getting the ring to be special too. I decided to get it on my first vacation after I was healthy which would be to my favourite city in the world and would be poignant because vacationing used to be very difficult for me. So I took a walk in the city to the Tiffany’s and bought myself a beautiful, simple silver band from their collection. Every morning when I wake up, I put it on and am thankful. Every time I use my hands and feel it, I am thankful. Etc.

Funnily enough, the day I bought the ring also happened to be the day that I received a phone call telling me I had been accepted to the grad school that I currently attend. So the ring has many happy memories for me.

Another idea, that requires a lot less cash is to journal in a notebook (if you’re very private) or your day planner. When you wake up in the morning, write 3 things that you are excited about for that day and before you go to bed, write down 3 things that you are thankful for from that day or from life in general.

So start your thankful journal and stay tuned tomorrow for #3!!

Leave a Reply

